Our Leadership

The John Rex Endowment is governed by the Board of Directors.  Members of the board bring a range of perspectives and experience from the business, education, finance, healthcare, and nonprofit community.  The Board of Directors is composed of 14 members with the foundation president serving as an ex-officio member. 

The diverse leadership sets the John Rex Endowment’s mission, monitors the impact of the organization, provides broad direction and ensures its development and growth. The Board of Directors performs its duties through committees that include the Executive Committee, Finance and Audit Committee, Health Improvement Committee and Nominating Committee.  Each director serves two three-year terms and serves on at least one committee.


Linda Butler, M.D., Chair, Chief Medical Officer, Rex Healthcare
Dick Daugherty, Secretary, Vice President, retired, IBM
Jimmy Talton, Treasurer, Sr. Vice President, CapTrust Financial Advisors
Walker Wilson, Vice-chair, Chief Policy Officer, North Carolina Dept. of Health and Human Services


Kevin Cain, President and CEO, John Rex Endowment
Craig Croom, Wake County District Court Judge
Heather Denny, President and CEO, McDonald York Building Company
Pablo Escobar, Director, Open Door Clinic, Urban Ministries of Wake County
Russell Killen, Attorney, Parker Poe
Matt Leatherman, Director, FCLT Global
Allen Mask, M.D., Medical Director, Raleigh Urgent Care Center
Cathy Moore, Deputy Supt. for School Performance, Wake County Public School System
Deborah Nelson, Consultant for early childhood system building initiatives
Dexter Perry, CEO, The Providence Group of North Carolina

Former Chairs

Jill Wright, M.D.
Sherry Worth
Robert Rader, Judge
Leah Devlin, D.D.S.
Ben Bradsher
David Boerner, M.D.
Ann Goodnight
James Maynard